The aim of the Malakta Artist in Residency (AiR) programme is to provide a creative space where artists can work, develop, share, interact and experiment.

Malakta is located in the middle of a beautiful and quiet countryside, and is a family friendly location. The residency is suitable for both individual artist and groups. We offer access to a range of studios and work facilities, and a place to meet with other creative people in a small collaborative community. We encourage applications from a wide range of artists of different cultural and geographic backgrounds. We are open for applications for all phases – from initial research to finishing works.

 

   The Malakta AiR offers both a two bedroom fully furnished apartment and single rooms with access to shared kitchen and bathroom facilities. We offer access to extensive working facilities and equipment.

For selected artists we offer possibilities to hold artist talks, exhibitions, engage with community arts activities, realice collaborative projects and to experience the beautiful Ostrobothnian nature and culture.

Please find the complete Malakta AiR description here: Malakta AiR

To apply:

Applications can be submitted all year round.

To apply, please submit the following by email: air@malakta.fi

  1. CV/Resumé (doc, pdf)
  2. Project plan / artist statement of approximately 500 words (doc, pdf) outlying how you wish to spend your time at Malakta, please also specify preferred residency duration and dates.
  3. 6-10 images of work (max 10mb files in total) or links to online videos.

Selected applicants will be notified by email.

Fees:

The programme fee is 650€ per month. We also offer a small number of subsidised places, these are awarded to artists that are interested and willing to participate in community and outreach based projects.

Malakta can provide residents with a detailed letter of confirmation and assist in other ways with funding opportunities in the artist’s home country.

 

Earlier Artist in Residency

2018

Rosa Pasqual, ES. Visual artist. https://www.malakta.fi/rosa-pascual-artist-talk/

Veronika Vaculikovq, CZ. Choreographer/filmmaker.

https://www.danceperfect.cz/cz/lektor/veronika-vaculikova

Jan Valkk, CZ. Filmmaker.

Marlene Millar, CA. Choreographer/filmmaker. http://mouvementperpetuel.net/about-us/marlene-millar/

Jon Gredmark, SE. Visual artist. http://jongredmark.tumblr.com/

Andrea Hackl, NL. Choreographer.   http://andreahackl.com/

Petronela Grigorescu, Delia Bulgaru, Anca Medeleanu, Adrian Marele, R0, actor and visual artist

2017

Helena Jonsdottir, IS. Choreographer/filmmaker. http://this.is/helena/

Cel Crabeels, BE. Visual artist. https://vimeo.com/celcrabeels

Leila Refahi, IR. Visual artist. http://leilarefahi.ir/

Ricardas Matacius, LT. Filmmaker. http://www.fivedots.lt/

Rasa Kregzdaite, LT. Producer.

Anne Rönkkö, FI. Dancer. https://www.facebook.com/anne.ronkko.5

Moona Nevalainen, FI. Dancer.  http://www.jotkuttaasvaittavat.fi/hapean-muotista-ulos/

Egle Plytnikaite, LT. Illustrator. http://egle.plytnikaite.com/

Hanuka Lohrengel, GE/LV. Illustrator. https://www.hanukalohrengel.com/about-me/

2016

Todd Anderson-Kunert, Light Artist, AU. Sound artist. https://www.toddanderson-kunert.com/

Mikael Åberg (SE), Sculpturer. Project “Artist on assignment” for Malax municipality & Arts

Promotion Centre Finland. https://mikaelaberg.com/

Abraham Lezama J, MX. Choreographer

Hanuka Lohrengel, GE/LV. Visual artist.

Catherine Bourne, AU/IE. Curator. https://www.facebook.com/catherinepbourne

Darn Thorn, IE. Fotographer. http://darnthorn.com/

2015

Johanna Nuutinen, FI. Choreographer. http://johannanuutinen.com/fi

Abraham Lezama J, MX. Choreographer, festival leader,  https://www.facebook.com/TeenekRDFF/

Remu Iwai, HK. Filmmaker.  https://vimeo.com/remuiwai

Emelie Boman, SE. Choreographer.  http://youdance.se/produktioner/

Andrea Hackl, NL. Choreographer.   http://andreahackl.com/

2014

Espen Haslene, NO. Film director. www.tundragroupfilms.com

Tharan Revfem, NO. Dancer.

Clara Henriksdotter-Puranen FI , Dancer

Eleni Pierides & Taneli Törmä FI / DK www.tanelitorma.com Dancers

Catherine Bourne, AU, IE,  http://cargocollective.com/catherinebourne Curator

Darn Thorn, IE,  www.darnthorn.com Fotographer

Mervi Junkkonen, Film director. http://cinemervi.com/

Girilal Baars FI / SE. Musician, composer. http://www.girilal.com/

Abraham Lezama J, MX. Choreographer.

2013

Julie Fotheringham, US. Choreographer, psychoanalyst.

https://www.juliefotheringham.net/performance-gallery

2012

Iluta Lace, Dita Lace, LV. Human rights workers in Marta Centrs. http://www.marta.lv/

Gundega Graudina, LV. Musician. http://www.ambraduo.com/gundega

Abraham Lezama J, MX. Choreographer

 

GROUP RESIDENCIES WITH A GIVEN ASSIGNMENT / OBJECTIVE

 

2018 HUNGER, 9 craft artists from Norway, Sweden and Finland curated together for a cross-art

workshops and for a touring exhibition, part of HANDMADE Nordisk Kulturfond,

https://www.prosjekthunger.no/enligsh

2015 YOUNG MUSICIANS, seven young talents get a tutorial and opportunity to work with

professional musicians during a weekend. The weekend was documented. Arr. The youth music association https://www.musiktalang.fi/songcamp/

2013 HOMELAND, ArtCamp Malakta. Realization of Cross-Art Exhibition Homeland with artists

from Ostrobothnia, Finland and Västerbotten Sweden. Exhibition at modern art museum Kuntsi in Vaasa in autumn 2014 and in Västerbotten Museum, Umeå spring 2015. Arr Arts Promotion Centre Finland / Nora Nelsson and Västerbottens museum. http://umea2014.se/2014/10/the-meaning-of-homeland/

2012 Art in Process. International workshops with Timothy Persons. Arr. Produforum Österbotten